Tuesday, August 14, 2007

Uno Chicago Grill

B+ for awareness and friendliness, and for posting ingredients on the website. Points deducted for not offering any suggestions and making me do all the footwork. I'm running into many ingredients that may or may not be vegan, and I'm seeing that determining if these are from an animal source can be quite a challenge.

Hello,
I would like to visit your restaurant. Can you tell me what menu items are vegan (no animal products)? Thank you for taking the time to research this.
Best,
Erin


Uno Chicago Grill response:

Dear Erin ,
We have a wonderful website that will give you all the information you need. Its www.unos.com. Please click on nutrition then on the left click on vegetarian. Please note the food note about our Romano and Parmesan cheeses. They are made with animal rennet. Other cheeses are made with microbial enzymes.
Kacey Bogue
Senior Hospitality Representative
Mon-Fri 8:30-4:30 EST


The verdict:
The House Salad is vegan
Fat Free Vinaigrette dressing may or may not be vegan (stabilizers)
Classic Vinaigrette dressing may or may not be vegan (stabilizers)
Low Fat Blueberry Pomegranate Vinaigrette may or may not be vegan (stabilizers, preservatives)
Veggie Soup is vegan

3 comments:

Rhiannon said...

In addition to the soup, the steamed veggies, steamed broccoli, brown rice with craisins and mango, and roasted vegetables are, to the best of my knowledge vegan friendly.

Chris said...

I work at UNO..here's some good info. UNO does not use butter, they use a soy based butter substitutes called Phase..although it is hydrogenated soybean oil, it does not contain animal products. Both the whole grain and traditional thin pizza crusts do not contain any animal products, nor does the tomato sauce or chunky tomato sauce, so a pizza without cheese is vegan (and tasty). the steamed veggies are in fact cruelty free, but the roasted veggies are tossed in pesto sauce which contains cheese. the salsa, guacemole, and chips are vegan, as are all the pastas used. Fries in my location are fried in veggie oil that is not shared with other foods.Dressing wise, the FF vinagrette, Lemon Garlic Vinagrette, and Blueberry Pom are all vegan(according to my research). Hope this helps.

Erin said...

Chris THANK YOU for the GREAT information.